[UK] MPs who rebelled over Iraq

[Follow Ups] [Post Followup] [Our Discussion Forum]

Posted by andreas from p3EE3C39D.dip.t-dialin.net ( on Wednesday, September 25, 2002 at 3:29AM :


Wednesday, 25 September, 2002, 03:31 GMT 04:31 UK

MPs who rebelled over Iraq

Labour MPs registered their opposition to Tony Blair's stance against Iraq after a day of passionate debate in the Commons.
They were joined by Liberal Democrat, Scottish National Party and Plaid Cymru members.

The government would not allow a specific anti-war vote, but critics forced a vote against Parliament ending its day's work.

The following MPs all voted against the motion to register their protest:


Diane Abbott (Hackney North & Stoke Newington), John Austin (Erith & Thamesmead), Tony Banks (West Ham), Harry Barnes (Derbyshire North East), Andrew Bennett (Denton & Reddish), Dr Roger Berry (Kingswood), Harold Best (Leeds North West), Ms Karen Buck (Regent's Park & Kensington North), Ronnie Campbell (Blyth Valley), Harry Cohen (Leyton & Wanstead), Iain Coleman (Hammersmith & Fulham), Michael Connarty (Falkirk East), Jeremy Corbyn (Islington North), Tom Cox (Tooting), Ms Ann Cryer (Keighley), John Cryer (Hornchurch), Tam Dalyell (Linlithgow), David Drew (Stroud), Paul Flynn (Newport West), George Galloway (Glasgow Kelvin), Neil Gerrard (Walthamstow), Dr Ian Gibson (Norwich North), David Hamilton (Midlothian), Fabian Hamilton (Leeds North East), Ms Glenda Jackson (Hampstead & Highgate), Jon Owen Jones (Cardiff Central), Dr Lynne Jones (Birmingham Selly Oak), Terry Lewis (Worsley), Iain Luke (Dundee East), John Lyons (Strathkelvin & Bearsden), Mrs Christine McCafferty (Calder Valley), John McDonnell (Hayes & Harlington), Tony McWalter (Hemel Hempstead), Ms Alice Mahon (Halifax), Jim Marshall (Leicester South), Robert Marshall-Andrews (Medway), Ms Julie Morgan (Cardiff North), Ms Linda Perham (Ilford North), Gordon Prentice (Pendle), Mohammad Sarwar (Glasgow Govan), Malcolm Savidge (Aberdeen North), Brian Sedgemore (Hackney South & Shoreditch), Ms Debra Shipley (Stourbridge), Alan Simpson (Nottingham South), Dennis Skinner (Bolsover), Llew Smith (Blaenau Gwent), David Taylor (Leicestershire North West), Jon Trickett (Hemsworth), Paul Truswell (Pudsey), Dr Desmond Turner (Brighton Kemptown), Ms Joan Walley (Stoke-on-Trent North), Robert Wareing (Liverpool West Derby), Mrs Betty Williams (Conwy).

Liberal Democrats

Richard Allan (Sheffield Hallam), Sue Doughty (Guildford).

Scottish National Party

Annabelle Ewing (Perth), Angus Robertson (Moray), Alex Salmond (Banff & Buchan), Michael Weir (Angus), Pete Wishart (Tayside N).

Plaid Cymru

Elfyn Llwyd (Meirionnydd Nant Conwy), Adam Price (Carmarthern East and Dinefwr), Simon Thomas (Ceredigion), Hywel Wiliams (Caernarfon).

Those voting in favour of the motion to adjourn were:

Roy Beggs (UUP Antrim East), David Burnside (UUP Antrim South), Jeffrey Donaldson (UUP Lagan Valley), The Rev Ian Paisley (DUP Antrim N), the Rev Martin Smyth (UUP Belfast South), David Trimble (UUP Upper Bann).

-- andreas
-- signature .

Follow Ups:

Post a Followup

E-Mail: ( default )
Optional Link ( default )
Optional Image Link ( default )

This board is powered by the Mr. Fong Device from Cyberarmy.com